Hanover Chosen to Claim HCAC Women’s Indoor Track & Field Title

Hanover Chosen to Claim HCAC Women’s Indoor Track & Field Title

GREENWOOD, IN – Hanover College’s women’s track and field team has been selected as the front runner to win the 2014 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference indoor championship. The Panthers were nearly unanimous selections, receiving 99 points and nine first place votes in a poll of the conference’s ten head coaches. 

Franklin College will look to claim their first indoor championship at the meet this February, as the Grizzlies totaled a second-best 83 points.  Defiance College placed third in the poll with 79 points and the final first place vote.  Manchester University finished fourth with 67 points and was followed by Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (64 points), Anderson University (58), Bluffton University (37), Earlham College (28), Transylvania University (22), and College of Mount St. Joseph (13).

Hanover earned the school’s second indoor championship last winter, holding off second place Rose-Hulman.  Junior Briahna Chambers (Bell, Tex./Ellison) returns after earning the HCAC Most Outstanding Track Athlete honor last February.  Chambers set new conference records in the 60-meter dash (8.05) and 200-meter dash (26.84) at the meet.  The Panthers also return event winners Jordan Moseby (Indianapolis, Ind./Ben Davis) and Ashlee Arbaugh (Van Buren, Ohio/H.S.) this season.  Moseby set a conference record in the 60-meter hurdles (9.10), while Arbaugh earned the shot put title with a heave of 12.09 meters.

Franklin finished third last February and will look to dethrone the Panthers in this year’s meet.  The Grizzlies return a pair of All-HCAC selections from a year ago.  Hillary Cain (Rushville, Ind./H.S.) earned titles in the 3,000 and 5,000-meters, setting new conference records in the process.  Anna Murdock (Trafalgar, Ind./Indian Creek) won the 800-meter run with a time of 2:27.71.

After a fourth place finish last season, Defiance College has been selected to place third at the upcoming indoor championships.  The Yellow Jackets did not win an event last winter, but will look for different results in February.  Senior Kali George (East Palestine, Ohio/H.S.) finished second in the 200-meter dash, 400-meter dash, long jump, and high jump a year ago, and was also a member of the second place 1,600-meter relay team.

The 2014 HCAC Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championships are set for Saturday, February 22 at Anderson University.

Athletes to Watch


Heather Quinlan

Jr., Mid-Distance

Brookville, Ind./Franklin Co.



Alex Friske

Sr., Hurdles/Sprints

McHenry, Ill./H.S.


Shantol McMahon

Sr., Throws

Port St. Lucie, Fla./Centennial


Melissa Green

So., Throws

Toledo, Ohio/Christian


Betsy Lamb

So., Throws

Farmland, Ind./Monroe Central



Nichole Peterman

So., Mid-Distance

Killbuck, Ohio/West Holmes



Terrill Webb

Fr., Jumps

Kenton, Ohio/H.S.


Whitney Warnecke

Fr., Jumps

Ottawa, Ohio/Ottawa-Glandorf



Kali George

Sr., Sprints/Jumps

East Palestine, Ohio/H.S.


Eme Miller

So., Distance

Portland, Ind./Jay Co.


Samantha Cook

Fr., Throws

Raiford, Fla./Bradford Co.


Micah Wilson

Fr., Sprints

Mims, Fla./Astronaut



Emma Hauser

Jr., Distance

Athens, Ohio/H.S.


Cherrah Barclay

Fr., Sprints

Tacoma Park, Md./Montgomery Blair



Hillary Cain

Jr., Distance

Rushville, Ind./H.S.


Anna Murdock

Jr., Mid-Distance

Trafalgar, Ind./Indian Creek


Danialle Hays

Jr., Sprints/Hurdles

Martinsville, Ind./H.S.


Natavia Howell

So., Sprints

Indianapolis, Ind./Howe



Briahna Chambers

Jr., Sprints/Jumps

Bell, Tex./Ellison


Mackenzie Dye

Jr., Distance

New Castle, Ind./H.S.


Jordan Moseby

Jr., Sprints/Hurdles

Indianapolis, Ind./Ben Davis


Ashlee Arbaugh

So., Throws

Van Buren, Ohio/H.S.


Frannie Larson

Jr., Jumps

Lagrange, Ky./North Oldham



Bridgette Rowe

Jr., Jumps

La Quinta, Cali./H.S.


Brianna Martinez

Jr. Distance

Schererville, Ind./Andrean


Allison Rowe

So., Jumps

La Quinta, Cali./H.S.


Mariah Jordan

Fr., Distance

Ft. Wayne, Ind./Homestead


Alissa Niswonger

Sr., Throws

Michigan City, Ind./H.S.


Mount St. Joseph

Rachel Blevins

Jr., Throws

Middletown, Ohio/Madison



Cassandra Cox

Sr., Throws

Louisville, Ky./Dupont Manual


Ryann-Rebecca Montgomery

Sr., Distance

Lafayette, La./Espiscopal-Acadia



Shelby Auxier

So., Sprints

Hanover, Ind./Southwestern


Cora Kerber

Fr., Distance

Winchester, Ky./G.R. Clark


Olivia Schaefer

Fr., Distance

Cincinnati, Ohio/McAuley


Katie Cohron

So., Mid-Distance

Bowling Green, Ky./H.S.