Coaches Tab Rose-Hulman to Win HCAC Women's Tennis Championship

Coaches Tab Rose-Hulman to Win HCAC Women's Tennis Championship

GREENWOOD, Ind. – Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology's women's tennis team has been selected as the front runner to win the 2017 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship. In a poll of the eight HCAC head coaches, the Fightin' Engineers received a total of 77 points and five first place votes.

Hanover College placed second in the poll with 75 points and three first place votes, while Franklin College is picked to finish third in the conference standings with 63 points.  Manchester University (53 points), Transylvania University (50), Mount St. Joseph University (40), Defiance College (34), and Earlham College (24) round out the poll.

The Fightin' Engineers are coming off a 14-4 season and 7-1 conference record in 2016. Rose-Hulman beat Hanover 5-4 to earn their second HCAC tournament crown.

Head coach Dan Hopkins returns three first-team All-HCAC selections to the Engineers' lineup this fall.  Senior Bella Evans (Mission Viejo, Calif. / Tesoro) notched a 9-0 record at No. 2 singles, while adding a 5-4 mark at No. 2 doubles.  Sophomore Naomi Bhagat (Waukesha, Wis. / New Berlin West) also earned a first-team selection after posting a 8-1 record at No. 3 singles and a 5-3 mark at No. 1 doubles. Sophomore Anna Thompson (Anderson, S.C. / Christ Church Episcopal) also posted a 6-3 mark at No. 1 singles, while adding a 5-3 record in doubles play last season.

Hanover College will look to challenge the Engineers for the HCAC crown and earn the school's eighth women's tennis title.  The Panthers finished first in the HCAC standings last fall with a perfect 8-0 mark in league play.  Hanover returns three first-team All-HCAC selections from a year ago.  Junior Susan Winternheimer (Indianapolis, Ind. / Bishop Chatard) earned first-team honors after finishing 7-1 in league singles matches and 8-0 at No. 2 doubles during her sophomore season. Sophomore Meghan Farrell (Indianapolis, Ind. / Cathedral) and Cami Jones (Richmond, Ind. / Richmond) were also first-team selections last fall. Farrell went went 6-1 in No. 1 doubles last season as a freshman, and Jones went 7-1 in singles play during the conference season. 

Franklin College finished third in the HCAC standings, finishing 5-3 in league play.  The Grizzlies return two first-team All-HCAC member to the court this fall. Junior Karen Dringenburg (Seymour, Ind. / Seymour) finished 5-3 at No. 1 singles and 7-1 at No. 1 doubles in league play. Joining Dringenburg as a first-team selection is junior Rachel Rose (Springboro, Ohio / Springboro). Rose finished 5-3 in league play at No. 2 singles and 7-1 at No. 1 doubles.

The 2017 women's tennis season is set to begin on August 31.

Players to Watch

Defiance     Hannah Hesterman     Junior     Archbold, Ohio / Archbold
      Courtney Alexander     Senior     Bristolville, Ohio / Bristol
      Alicia Jean     Freshman     Bryan, Ohio / Bryan
Earlham     Arrita Domi     Senior     Gjakove, Kosovo / International
      Lexi Aligarbes     Senior     Farmington, N.M. / Farmington
      Kaitlin Morgan     Senior     Richmond, Ind. / Richmond
Franklin     Karen Dringenburg     Junior     Seymour, Ind. / Seymour
      Holyn Eldridge     Junior     Goshen, Ind. / Concord
      Rachel Rose     Junior     Springsboro, Ohio / Springsboro
Hanover     Susie Winternheimer     Junior     Indianapolis, Ind. / Bishop Chatard
      Meghan Farrell     Sophomore     Indianapolis, Ind. / Cathedral
      Cami Jones     Sophomore
    Richmond, Ind. / Richmond
Manchester     Erin Cordill     Senior     Zionsville, Ind. / Zionsville
      Katie Peden     Senior     North Manchester, Ind. / Manchester
      Katy Ashpole     Senior     Leesburg, Ind. / Wawasee
      Mariam Ali     Senior     Giza, Egypt
MSJ     Hannah Broermann     Sophomore
    Okeana, Ohio / Badin
      Kelsey Knodell     Sophomore
    Delaware, Ohio / Rutherford B. Hayes
      Blake Nelson     Sophomore     Cincinnati, Ohio / Amelia
Rose-Hulman     Naomi Bhagat     Sophomore
    Waukesha, Wis. / New Berlin West
      Bella Evans     Senior     Mission Viejo, Calif. / Tesoro 
      Kyla Jarvis     Sophomore     Terre Haute, Ind. / North Vigo
      Linde Schaffer     Junior     Inner Grove Heights, Minn. / Eagan
      Anna Thompson     Sophomore
    Anderson, S.C. / Christ Church Episcopal
Transylvania     Mary Grace Amato     Senior
    Frankfort, Ky. / Franklin Co.
      Lilian Williams     Senior
    Frankfort, Ky. / Franklin Co.
      Lucy Herington     Sophomore     Louisville, Ky. / Sacred Heart