Coaches Tab Hanover to Win HCAC Women's Tennis Championship

Coaches Tab Hanover to Win HCAC Women's Tennis Championship

GREENWOOD, Ind. – Hanover College's women's tennis team has been selected as the front runner to win the 2016 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship. In a poll of the nine HCAC head coaches, the Panthers received a total of 79 points and seven first place votes.

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology placed second in the poll with 66 points and two first place votes, while Franklin College is picked to finish third in the conference standings with 65 points.  Anderson University (55 points), Manchester University (45), Transylvania University (40), Defiance College (22), Mount St. Joseph University (21), and Earlham College (12) round out the poll.

The Panthers are coming off a 15-4 season and 8-0 conference record in 2015, claiming the school's seventh conference title. Hanover beat Franklin 5-4 to earn their third straight HCAC tournament crown.

Head coach Ryan Miller returns three first-team All-HCAC selections to the Panthers' lineup this fall.  Senior Mackenzie Spicer (Indianapolis, Ind. / Lawrence Central) notched a 7-1 record at No. 1 singles, while adding a 5-2 mark at No. 1 doubles.  Sophomore Susan Winternheimer (Attica, Ind./H.S.) also earned a first-team selection after posting a 3-2 record at No. 2 singles and a 7-0 mark at No. 2 doubles. Sophomore Tori Schwartz ( / ) also posted a 5-2 mark at No. 1 doubles, while adding a perfect 8-0 record in singles play last season.

Rose-Hulman will look to challenge the Panthers for the HCAC crown and earn the school's third women's tennis title.  The Engineers finished fourth in the HCAC standings last fall with a 5-3 mark in league play.  RHIT returns one first-team All-HCAC selections from a year ago.  Junior Bella Evans (Mission Viejo, Calif. / Tesoro) earned first-team honors after finishing 6-2 at No. 1 singles and 3-5 at No. 1 doubles during her sophomore season. 

Franklin College finished second in the HCAC standings, finishing 7-1 in league play.  The Grizzlies return one first-team All-HCAC member to the court this fall. Sophomore Karen Dringenburg (Seymour, Ind. / Seymour) finished 7-0 at No. 3 singles and 8-0 at No. 1 doubles in league play, which earned her HCAC Freshman of the Year honors for her rookie season.

The 2016 women's tennis season is set to begin on September 3.

Players to Watch

Anderson   Abby Kirkman   Sophomore   Martinsville, Ind. / Martinsville
    Katie Kirkman   Senior   Martinsville, Ind. / Martinsville
    Hannah Libler   Sophomore   Alexandria, Ind. / Alexandria
Defiance   Hannah Hesterman   Sophomore   Archbold, Ohio / Archbold
    Danielle Vance   Sophomore   Defiance, Ohio / Defiance
Earlham   Arrita Domi   Junior   Gjakove, Kosovo / International
    Lexi Aligarbes   Junior   Farmington, N.M. / Farmington
    Rachel Riggs   Junior   Logan, Ohio / Logan
Franklin   Karen Dringenburg   Sophomore   Seymour, Ind. / Seymour
    Holyn Eldridge   Sophomore    
    Rachel Rose   Sophomore   Springsboro, Ohio / Springsboro
Hanover   Mackenzie Spicer   Senior   Indianapolis, Ind. / Lawrence Central
    Mallory Noble   Senior   Fishers, Ind. / Hamilton Southeastern
    Kelly Gehlbach   Senior   Wilmington, Ohio / Wilmington
Manchester   Erin Cordill   Junior   Zionsville, Ind. / Zionsville
    Katie Peden   Junior   North Manchester, Ind. / Manchester
    Katy Ashpole   Junior   Leesburg, Ind. / Wawasee
MSJ   Morgan Hoehn   Senior   Cincinnati, Ohio / Colerain
    Kristina Staley   Junior   Cincinnati, Ohio / Mercy
Rose-Hulman   Bella Evans   Junior   Mission Viejo, Calif. / Tesoro 
    Lauren Edwards   Senior   Franklin, Ind. / Franklin Community 
    Linde Schaffer   Sophomore   Inver Grove Heights, Minn. / Eagan 
    Sydney Short   Senior   Langley, Va. / Grafton 
    Becca Stanley   Senior   New Whiteland, Ind. / Whiteland 
Transylvania   Lilian Williams   Junior   Frankfort, Ky. / Franklin Co.
    Madison Miles   Sophomore   Prospect, Ky. / Louisville Collegiate
    Myriah Porter   Junior   Catlettsburg, Ky. / Boyd Co.