Hanover and Franklin Named Co-Favorites to Capture Women's Soccer Title

Hanover and Franklin Named Co-Favorites to Capture Women's Soccer Title

GREENWOOD, Ind. Hanover College and Franklin College have been selected to pace the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference race in women's soccer this season. The Panthers received 85 total points in a poll of the conference's ten head coaches, grabbing five first place votes.  Franklin College also received 85 total points and the four first place votes.

Mount St. Joseph University placed third in the poll with 72 total points, while Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology finished fourth with 69 points and the final first place vote.  Transylvania University received 58 points and finished fifth, while Anderson University (51 points), Manchester University (41), Earlham College (39), Defiance College (29), and Bluffton University (21) rounded out the poll.

Hanover College finished 2016 with an 8-1 conference record and a 14-6 mark overall, winning a share of the league title.  The Panthers defeated Franklin in the HCAC tournament championship to earn a NCAA tourney berth.  Hanover fell in the second round of the NCAA tournament to Trinity (Tex.) 3-1, ending the season. 

The 2017 version of the Panthers return four players that earned first-team All-HCAC honors last fall, including the HCAC Defensive MVP.  Senior Abby Shroyer (Zionsville, Ind. / Zionsville) has played in all 62 games of her career on the defensive end at Hanover. Junior midfielder Cassidy Evanson (Carmel, Ind. / Carmel) returns after starting all 20 games for the Panthers last season. Senior Daria Volker (Lawrenceburg, Ind. / East Central) contributed four goals in the midfield position last fall, and defender Katie Workman (Lexington, Ky. / Tates Creek) returns for the Panthers as well.

Franklin College finished earned a share of the regular season HCAC title with an 8-1 conference record last season and finished 16-4 overall.  The Grizzlies fell to Hanover in the HCAC tournament championship 1-0 in regulation.  Franklin returns three first-team All-HCAC selection from last season's squad, including the HCAC Offensive MVP. Junior forward Maddie Fleet (Indianapolis, Ind. / Perry Meridian) led the conference in goals and total points last season.  She contributed 25 goals and 17 assists totaling 67 points for her sophomore season with the Grizzlies. Junior midfielder Clare Lenart (Seymour, Ind. / Seymour) contributed 12 assists and nine goals for the Grizzly offense. Sophomore goalkeeper Lexi Short (Avon, Ind. / Avon) tallied 45 saves and a 0.48 goals-against average for the Grizzlies in her freshman season.

Mount St. Joseph University will look to challenge for an HCAC title in 2017.  The Lions finished third in the conference race last fall with a 7-2 mark (11-7-1 overall), but lost to Hanover in the HCAC tournament semifinals.  Mount St. Joseph will return one first-team All-HCAC selection from the 2016 team.  Sophomore defender Madeline Rechel (Harrison, Ohio / Harrison) anchored a defense that boasted a 1.23 goals-against average last season for the Lions.

The 2017 women's soccer season is scheduled to open on September 1.

Players to Watch

Anderson     Katie Frazer     Junior     Forward  
      Danae Miller     Junior     Midfield  
      Ashley Downs     Junior     Back  
Bluffton     Brittany Huff     Senior     Back  
      Katelyn Gardella     Senior     Midfield  
      Skylar Liming     Junior     Forward  
Defiance     Kassie Memmer     Senior     Midfield  
      Blake Newman     Sophomore     Midfield  
      Sarah Madaras     Sophomore     Midfield  
Earlham     Emma Hoffmann     Senior     Back  
      Lydia Harvey     Junior     Back  
      Sari Stissi     Sophomore     Goalkeeper  
Franklin     Maddie Fleet     Junior     Forward  
      Clare Lenart     Senior
      Jillian Lawrence     Senior
      Kelsey Brunsman     Senior     Back  
Hanover     Abby Shroyer     Senior     Back  
      Katie Workman     Senior     Back  
      Daria Volker     Senior     Midfield  
      Cassidy Evanson     Junior     Midfield  
Manchester     Courtney Hersick     Junior     Midfield  
      Maranda Birmingham     Sophomore     Midfield/Forward  
      Jaclyn Scialdone     Junior     Back  
      Kelsey Ropp     Junior     Midfield  
Mount St. Joseph     Michelle Hessling     Senior
      Taylor Clark     Senior
      Morgan Knasel     Senior
      Brenna Lonneman     Senior     Back  
      Jasmine Cahill     Senior     Midfield  
Rose-Hulman     Madeline Romeo     Senior
      Eliska Saiz     Senior
      Jessica Wells     Sophomore
Transylvania     Abby Van Bussum     Senior
      Maddie Sjogren     Junior     Forward
      Bailey Browning     Junior
      Lindsey Sizemore     Senior     Midfield