Transylvania’s Coffman Earns Second-Straight HCAC Women’s Basketball MVP Honor

Transylvania’s Coffman Earns Second-Straight HCAC Women’s Basketball MVP Honor

GREENWOOD, IN – Transylvania University’s Nicole Coffman (Liberty, Ky./Casey Co.) has been selected as the 2013-2014 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball Most Valuable Player, headlining the 12-member All-HCAC 1st and 2nd teams. Coffman becomes the first athlete since Franklin’s Lindsey Roberson (2004-05 & 2005-06) to earn back-to-back MVP honors.

Coffman, a junior guard for the Pioneers, guided her team to a fifth HCAC regular season title and a second HCAC tournament championship this winter.  She led the league in scoring, averaging 20.8 points per game, and ranked fifth in three-point field goal percentage (40.4%) during conference play.  Coffman also contributed 4.9 rebounds per game and shot 44.4% from the field during HCAC action this season.

Her efforts enabled the Pioneers to finish the conference season with a 17-1 record and currently boast a 25-2 mark overall.  The Pioneers will open the NCAA Division III tournament against Ohio Northern at DePauw University Friday evening.

Hanover College’s Jessie Davidson (Lexington, Ind./Austin) has been named the 2013-2014 HCAC Freshman of the Year.  Davidson, a guard for the Panthers, ranked fifth in the HCAC in scoring (15.3 ppg), second in free throw percentage (86.5%), and 13th in three-point field goal percentage (34.5%) during the conference season.  The freshman also contributed 3.9 rebounds and shot 44.4% from the field.

Transylvania’s Greg Todd has been awarded the HCAC Coach of the Year award for the fourth time in his career.  The seven-year head coach led the Pioneers to their fifth HCAC women’s basketball championship, finishing 17-1 in league play. Transylvania also claimed the HCAC tournament crown and will head into the NCAA tournament with a 25-2 record overall.

Coffman and Davidson were two of 12 players named to the All-HCAC first or second team. There are four seniors, two juniors, four sophomores, and two freshmen on the team this season. The eight-member Honorable Mention All-HCAC team, All-Freshman team, and All-Sportsmanship team have also been named.  A complete list of the recipients of conference awards follow:

Nicole Coffman, Transylvania University, HCAC MVP

1st Team All-HCAC:

Brooke Ruffer, Bluffton, So., F

Kelsey Tietje, Defiance, Fr., C

Alicia Hopkins, Hanover, Jr., G

Jessie Davidson, Hanover, Fr., G

Nicole Coffman, Transylvania, Jr., G

Katelyn Smith, Transylvania, So., G


2nd Team All-HCAC:

Bria Sneed, Earlham, Sr., G

Katie Brewer, Franklin, So., C

Erynn Meiklejohn, Manchester, Sr., F

Tara Dennis, Mount St. Joseph, So., F

Kelsey Ploof, Rose-Hulman, Sr., F

Madisen Webb, Transylvania, Sr., G


Honorable Mention All-HCAC:

Jenna Wittenberg, Anderson, Sr., F

Hannah Harshman, Defiance, Sr., F

Erica King, Defiance, Sr., G

Kasin Spay, Earlham, So., G

Lindsay Dall, Franklin, Jr., F

Nichole Thompson, Franklin, Jr., F

Lauren DeSutter, Franklin, Fr., G

Jocelyn Hamilton, Manchester, Jr., G


All-Freshman Team:

Shelby Schafer, Anderson, G

Rachel Beining, Bluffton, C

Kelsey Tietje, Defiance, C

Lauren DeSutter, Franklin, G

Jessie Davidson, Hanover, G


All-Sportsmanship Team:

Cori Conner, Anderson, Jr., C

Abby Jerger, Bluffton, So., G

Erica Smay, Defiance, Fr., G

Jazmynne Cunningham, Earlham, Sr., F

Lexi Ingram, Franklin, Fr., G

Ashley Malloy, Hanover, So., G

Alyssa Hammond, Manchester, Jr., C

Courtney Gleason, Mount St. Joseph, Fr., G

Abbie Marshall, Rose-Hulman, Fr., G

Alex McKenzie, Transylvania, Jr., F