Transylvania’s Nicole Coffman Named HCAC Women’s Basketball MVP

Transylvania’s Nicole Coffman Named HCAC Women’s Basketball MVP

GREENWOOD, IN – Transylvania University’s Nicole Coffman (Liberty, Ky./Casey Co.) has been selected as the 2012-2013 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball Most Valuable Player, headlining the 12-member All-HCAC 1st and 2nd teams. Coffman is the first sophomore to win the HCAC women’s basketball MVP award.

Coffman, a sophomore guard for the Pioneers, guided her team to a fourth HCAC title this winter.  She led the league in scoring, averaging 20.3 points per game and ranked second in free throw percentage (86.8%) during conference play.  Coffman also contributed 4.1 rebounds per game and shot 43.3% from behind the arc during HCAC action this season.

Her efforts enabled the Pioneers to finish the conference season with a 16-2 record and a 21-6 mark overall.  The Pioneers ended their season with an 83-66 setback to Hanover in the HCAC tournament final Sunday.

Transylvania University’s Katelyn Smith (Hazard, Ky./Perry Co. Central) has been named the 2012-2013 HCAC Freshman of the Year.  Smith, a guard for the Pioneers, ranked second in the HCAC in scoring (15.7 ppg), first in free throw percentage (87.1%), and ninth in field goal percentage (45.1%) during the conference season.  The freshman also contributed 3.6 rebounds and shot 45.7% from three-point range.

Transylvania’s Greg Todd has been awarded the HCAC Coach of the Year award for the third time in his career.  The six-year head coach led the Pioneers to their fourth HCAC women’s basketball championship, finishing 16-2 in league play. Transylvania finished the season 21-6 overall, ending the season with an 83-66 setback to Hanover in the HCAC tournament title game.

Coffman and Smith were two of 12 players named to the All-HCAC first or second team. There are five seniors, three juniors, two sophomores, and two freshmen on the team this season. The nine-member Honorable Mention All-HCAC team, All-Freshman team, and All-Sportsmanship team have also been named.  A complete list of the recipients of conference awards follow:

HCAC Awards:

Video has no source Url