RHIT Selected by Coaches to Repeat as HCAC Men’s Cross Country Champs

RHIT Selected by Coaches to Repeat as HCAC Men’s Cross Country Champs

GREENWOOD, Ind. – Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology's men's cross country team has been selected as the front runner to win the 2016 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championship. In a poll of the ten HCAC head coaches, the Engineers received 100 total points and all 10 first place votes. 

Manchester University will strive for its sixth title, as the Spartans totaled 89 points.  Hanover College placed third in the poll with 77 points, while Anderson University finished fourth with 72 points.  Bluffton University finished fifth with 56 points and was followed by Franklin College (54 points), Defiance College (36), Transylvania University (33), Earlham College (20), and Mount St. Joseph University (13).

Rose-Hulman won the school's second HCAC cross country championship last fall and returns four runners that earned first-team All-HCAC honors.  Junior Matt Hill (Connersville, Ind. / Connersville) placed first overall at the conference meet last fall and received MVP honors for his efforts.  The Engineers other three first-team All-HCAC finishers placed sixth, eighth, and eleventh overall last fall.  The returning runners will strive to pace Rose to a third-straight cross country HCAC title at the end of October.

The Spartans return one first-team All-HCAC and one honorable mention selections from last season.  Senior Connor Bresnahan (Portage, Mich. / Hackett Central Catholic) earned a second place finish in the conference meet last fall and was the lone Spartan to claim first-team All-HCAC accolades.  Senior Alex Gudeman earned Honorable Mention All-Conference with a 13th place finish overall.

Hanover College returns one first-team All-HCAC member from last year's third place team. Junior Joe Rector (Aurora, Ind. / South Dearborn) placed fifth at the 2015 meet, leading all Panthers at the event. 

The 2016 HCAC Men's Cross Country Championship will be hosted by Hanover College on Saturday, October 29.

The 2016 men's cross country season is set to begin on September 1.

Runners to Watch

Anderson   Isaac Wonderlin   Senior   Terre Haute, Ind. / South Vigo
    Jake Gehman   Senior   Aurora, Ill. / Aurora Christian
    Jona Odell   Sophomore   Indianapolis, Ind. / Cardinal Ritter
Bluffton   Jack Fisher   Senior   Norwalk, Ohio / St. Paul
    Kris Lyons   Junior   Vickery, Ohio / Margaretta
    Jonah Eckert   Sophomore   Terre Haute, Ind. / West Vigo
Defiance   Clayton Bruggeman   Senior   St. Henry, Ohio / St. Henry
    Zach Roush   Senior   Nashville, Ind. / Brown County
    Jacob Rindler   Senior   St. Henry, Ohio / St. Henry
Earlham   Gabe Penk   Senior   Portland, Oregon
    Daniel Kibet   Sophomore    
    Jacob Kempinski   Sophomore   Marshall, Mich.
Franklin   Evan Vernon   Senior   Indianapolis, Ind. / Perry Meridian
    Michael Powell   Senior   Medora, Ind. / Medora
Hanover   Joe Rector   Junior   Aurora, Ind. / South Dearborn
    Jacob Hedrick   Sophomore   Memphis, Ind. / Henryville
    Jake Hally   Senior   Indianapolis, Ind. / Southport
Manchester   Connor Bresnahan   Senior   Portage, Mich. / Hackett Central Catholic
    Alex Gudeman   Senior   Rochester, Ind. / Rochester
MSJ   Chad Mason   Sophomore   Addyston, Ohio  / Taylor
Rose-Hulman   Matt Hill   Junior   Connersville, Ind. / Connersville
    Chandler Harkins   Junior   Boulder City, Nev. / Boulder City
    Walt Dearing   Junior   Indianapolis, Ind. / Roncalli
    Alton Anspaugh   Junior   Shelbyville, Ind. / Shelbyville
Transylvania   Charlie Jordan   Freshman   Cincinnati, Ohio / Mariemont
    Evan Reister   Senior   Mount Washington, Ky. / Bullitt East
    Kyle Sprague   Senior   Lexington, Ky. / Paul Dunbar