Rose-Hulman Selected to Win HCAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Title

Rose-Hulman Selected to Win HCAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Title

GREENWOOD, Ind. – Rose-Hulman's men's track and field team has been selected as the unanimous front runner to win the 2017 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference indoor championship. In a poll of the ten HCAC head coaches, the Engineers received 100 total points and all ten first place votes. 

Anderson University will strive for the indoor title, as the Ravens totaled a second-best 82 points.  Hanover College placed third in the poll with 78 points, while Manchester University finished fourth with 75 points.  Bluffton University finished fifth with 55 points and was followed by Franklin College (52 points), Transylvania University (38), Earlham College (32), Defiance College (28), and Mount St. Joseph University (10).

Rose-Hulman has claimed the first six HCAC indoor championships and will look for a seventh-straight this February at Rose-Hulman. The Engineers return a host of All-HCAC first team performers from last year's squad.  Senior Brendon Mattiuz (Fishers, Ind. / Fishers) won the 800 meter run at last year's championship meet with a time of 1:57.29.  Senior Isaiah Smith (Shelbyville, Ind. / Shelbyville) won two events for the Engineers over the weekend and helped the 800-meter relay team break a HCAC record, and the 1,600-meter relay team earn a first place finish.

Anderson University earned a second place finish at last year's indoor championship meet and will try for their first indoor conference track and field title this winter.  The Ravens will return HCAC Field Athlete of the Year winner Garrett Cooley (Indianapolis, Ind./North Central) who won the high jump and long jump titles a year ago.  Senior Derek Mallory (Indianapolis, Ind. / Ritter) won the 60-meter hurdles last year for the Ravens with a time of 8.42.

Hanover College finished third at last winter's HCAC indoor meet and will go for a title in 2017. Junior Joe Rector (Aurora, Ind. / South Dearborn) will look to lead the Panthers during the 2017 season. Rector claimed the titles of the 3,000-meter and 5,000 meter distance races at last year's indoor championships.  

The 2017 HCAC Men's Indoor Track and Field Championships are set for Saturday, February 18 at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology.


RHIT Head Coach Larry Cole

Athletes to Watch


Derek Mallory

Sr., Sprints/Hurdles

Indianapolis, Ind. / Ritter


Sebastian Baxter

Jr., Throws

Wayne, Ohio / Elmwood


Garrett Cooley

Sr., Sprints/Jumps

Indianapolis, Ind. / North Central


Jake Gehman

Sr., Distance

Aurora, Ill. / Christian


Jona Odell

So., Distance

Indianapolis, Ind. / Ritter



Jack Fisher

Sr., Distance

Norwalk, Ohio / St. Paul


Quincy Salcido

So., Sprints

Van Wert, Ohio / Van Wert


Kyle Knezovich

Jr., Hurdles

Utica, Ohio / Utica


Stanley Williams

Fr., Jumps/Sprints

Sterling Heights, Mich. / Chippewa Valley



Josh Petro

Jr., Throws

Ocala, Fla. / The Villages


Jacob Rindler

Sr., Distance

St. Henry, Ohio / Patrick Henry


Javier Castillo

So., Throws

Nogales, Ariz. / Nogales


Quenell Rutledge

Fr., Sprints/Jumps

Deltona, Fla. / University




Marcaus Cooper

Jr., Sprints/Jumps

Palm Coast, Fla. / Mantanzas


Gabriel Penk

Sr., Distance

Portland, Ore. / Woodrow Wilson


Daniel Kibet

So., Distance

Eldoret, Kenya / St. Patrick's



Jonathan Frederick

Jr., Hurdles/Jumps

Bloomington, Ind. / Bloomington North


Nathaniel Staples

Sr., Hurdles/Jumps

Butlerville, Ind. / Jennings Co.


Clayton Brumfield

Fr., Distance

Greenfield, Ind. / Eastern Hancock



Enrico Franchini

Sr., Sprints

Sao Paolo, Brazil / Batesville


Gavin Alexander

Sr., Sprints

Indianapolis, Ind. / North Central


Joe Rector

Jr., Distance

Aurora, Ind. / South Dearborn


Jacob Sofronko

Jr., Throws

Ridgeville, Ind. / Winchester


Ivy Stevens

Sr., Throws

Goshen, Ky. / North Oldham



Drew Foster

Jr., Throws

Seymour, Ind. / Seymour


Alex Gudeman

Sr., Distance

Rochester, Ind. / Rochester


Harrison Hollis

Jr., Sprints

Lebanon, Ind. / Lebanon


Mount St. Joseph

Chad Mason

So., Distance

Addyston, Ohio / Taylor


Drew Stark

So., Distance

Cincinnati, Ohio / Roger Bacon



Joshua Blome

Sr., Jumps

Casey, Ill. / Casey-Westfield


Brendon Mattiuz

Sr., Distance

Fishers, Ind. / Fishers


Andrew Okruch

Sr., Throws

Mt. Washington, Ky. / Bullitt East


Isaiah Smith

Sr., Sprints/Jumps

Shelbyville, Ind. / Shelbyville


Brendan Smyth

Sr., Sprints/Jumps

Antwerp, Belgium / International


Adam Wilson

Sr., Sprints

Mecca, Ind. / Riverton-Park



Cole Green

Sr., Sprints

Oak Ridge, Tenn. / Oak Ridge



Charlie Jordan

Fr., Distance

Cincinnati, Ohio / Mariemont



Jordan Hancock

Fr., Distance

Greenville, Ky. / Muhlenberg



Malik Jackson

So., Jumps

Lexington, Ky. / Tates Creek