AU’s Kittle, BU’s Everett Named HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Year

AU’s Kittle, BU’s Everett Named HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Year

Award Ceremony Photos

GREENWOOD, IN – Anderson University’s Max Kittle (Algonquin, Ill./Dundee-Crown) and Bluffton University’s Trey Everett (Sidney, Ohio/Fairlawn) have been named 2015 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Indoor Track Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Year, respectively. Kittle led the Ravens to a second place finish at the meet, while Everett led the Beavers to a third place finish on February 22 at Rose-Hulman.

Kittle, a senior for the Ravens, won two individual events and was a member of the first place 800-meter relay team at the 2015 HCAC Indoor Championships.  The senior claimed the individual titles in the 60-meter hurdles (8.30) and 200-meter dash (22.31, HCAC record), while the relay team won with time of 1:30.61 (HCAC record).

Everett, a sophomore for the Beavers, won two field events at the championship.  He had a winning mark of 2.07 meters in the high jump and claimed the title in the long jump with a leap of 7.08 meters.  Both of those winning marks were new HCAC records.

Also receiving recognition for his efforts at the meet is Defiance freshman Darius Spinks (Washington, Pa./H.S.), receiving the 2015 HCAC Indoor Track & Field Freshman Athlete of the Year.  Spinks set a new HCAC record in the 60-meter dash, winning the event with a time of 6.90. The freshman also finished second in the 200-meter dash (22.32) and placed third in the long jump (6.80 meters).

Rose-Hulman’s Larry Cole was named the HCAC Coach of the Year after leading the Engineers to their fifth straight HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field team title. Cole, in his 12th season as Rose-Hulman’s head coach, saw his squad garner 296 points to win the championship.

Most Outstanding Male Track Athlete:  Max Kittle, Anderson University

Most Outstanding Male Field Athlete:  Trey Everett, Bluffton University

Most Outstanding Male Freshman Athlete:  Darius Spinks, Defiance College

Coach of the Year:  Larry Cole, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology


Max Kittle, SR., Anderson

Brad McNeil, Sr., Anderson

Garrett Cooley, So., Anderson

DeOntez Alexander, Fr., Anderson

Trey Everett, So., Bluffton

Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Bluffton

Darius Spinks, Fr., Defiance

Josh Hennig, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Brendon Mattiuz, So., Rose-Hulman

Stuart West, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Sam Sobczak, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Isaiah Smith, So., Rose-Hulman

Blake Schulthies, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Chandler Harkins, Fr., Rose-Hulman

John Evans, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Walt Dearing, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Matt Hill, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Nathan Green, So., Rose-Hulman

Vashon Solomon, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Charles Spaeth, So., Rose-Hulman

2nd Team All-HCAC

Joe Mahank, Fr., Anderson

Malik Davis, Fr., Anderson

Nick Moyer, Jr., Anderson

Jake Gehman, So., Anderson

Blake Drewes, So., Bluffton

Jacob Rindler, So., Defiance

Frank Baracani-Thomas, So., Hanover

Gavin Alexander, Fr., Hanover

Richie Sellers, Sr., Hanover

Jack Simon, So., Hanover

Jordan Moothery, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Ryan Meyer, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Jacob Becker, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Adam Wilson, So., Rose-Hulman

Brayden Betz, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Austin Schulthies, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Josh Blome, So., Rose-Hulman

Brendan Smyth, So., Rose-Hulman

Andrew Okruch, So., Rose-Hulman

Zac Erba, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Honorable Mention All-HCAC

Derek Mallory, So., Anderson

Neal Tardy, Jr., Anderson

Calen Bruner, Fr., Anderson

LaVauntez Hall, Fr., Defiance

Sebastian Rue, Sr., Defiance

Eric Thompson, Jr., Franklin

Clay Warner, Sr., Franklin

Enrico Franchini, So., Hanover

Joe Feldmann, Jr., Hanover

Andrew Strong, Fr., Hanover

Gavin Alexander, Fr., Hanover

Austin Duncan, Sr., Hanover

Stephen Coble, Sr., Manchester

Lucas Schulthies, So., Rose-Hulman

Cole Green, So., Transylvania

All-Sportsmanship Team

Brad McNeil, Sr., Anderson

Aron Gibson, Jr., Bluffton

Colin Krick, So., Defiance

Tre Stephens, Sr., Earlham

Blake Albrecht, Sr., Franklin

Gavin Alexander, So., Hanover

Jacob Sweet, Jr., Manchester

Sean McElroy, So., Mount St. Joseph

Zac Erba, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Henry Kramer, So., Transylvania