AU’s Kittle, FC’s Ellis Named HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Year

AU’s Kittle, FC’s Ellis Named HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Year

GREENWOOD, IN – Anderson University’s Max Kittle (Algonquin, Ill./Dundee-Crown) and Franklin College’s Patrick Ellis (Shelbyville, Ind./H.S.) have been named 2014 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Indoor Track Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Year, respectively. Kittle led the Ravens to a third place finish at the meet, while Ellis led the Grizzlies to a second place finish on February 22 at Anderson University.

Kittle, a junior for the Ravens, won two individual events and was a member of the first place 800-meter and 1,600-meter relay teams at the 2014 HCAC Indoor Championships.  The junior claimed the individual titles in the 60-meter hurdles (8.26) and 200-meter dash (22.48), while the relay teams won with times of 1:30.84 (HCAC record) and 3:25.67.

Ellis, a junior for the Grizzlies, won two field events at the championship.  He had a winning mark of 6.54 meters in the long jump and claimed the title in the triple jump with a leap of 13.39 meters.  Ellis also earned a third place finish in the high jump (1.88 meters).

Also receiving recognition for his efforts at the meet is Transylvania freshman Cole Green (Oak Ridge, Tenn./H.S.), receiving the 2014 HCAC Indoor Track & Field Freshman Athlete of the Year.  Green placed third in the 60-meter dash (7.19), 200-meter dash (22.75), and was a member of the third place 800-meter relay team (1:33.42).

Rose-Hulman’s Larry Cole was named the HCAC Coach of the Year after leading the Engineers to their fourth straight HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field team title. Cole, in his 11th season as Rose-Hulman’s head coach, saw his squad garner 200.5 points to win the championship.

Most Outstanding Male Track Athlete:  Max Kittle, Anderson University

Most Outstanding Male Field Athlete:  Patrick Ellis, Franklin College

Most Outstanding Male Freshman Athlete:  Cole Green, Transylvania University

Coach of the Year:  Larry Cole, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology


Tony Johnson, Sr., Anderson

Max Kittle, Jr., Anderson

Brad McNeil, Jr., Anderson

Edward Pupoh, Fr., Anderson

Jake Gehman, Fr., Anderson

Nick Moyer, So., Anderson

Troy Parrett, Jr., Defiance

Joe Davis, Sr., Defiance

Anthony Nolfi, Sr., Defiance

Patrick Ellis, Jr., Franklin

Nick Jaeger, So., Hanover

Jon Caffarelli, Sr., Manchester

Michael Stocker, Sr., Manchester

Dean Thomas, Fr., Manchester

Kody Jones, Fr., Manchester

Chris LaFree, Sr., Manchester

Micquelle Burton, Sr., Mount St. Joseph

Nathan Green, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Andrew Okruch, Fr., Rose-Hulman

2nd Team All-HCAC

Jack Fisher, Fr., Bluffton

Tyrone White, Fr., Bluffton

Martin Russ, Sr., Bluffton

Joshua Edens, So., Bluffton

Madison Murphy, Sr., Defiance

Ryan Johnston, Jr., Defiance

George Roth, So., Defiance

Clay Warner, Jr., Franklin

Kris Sandlin, Sr., Franklin

Taylor Christensen, Fr., Franklin

Torrey Gardiner, Fr., Hanover

Austin Finley, Jr., Manchester

Blake Schulthies, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Charles Spaeth, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Andy Hunkeler, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Adam Wilson, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Isaiah Smith, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Clay Becker, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Jake Kelley, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Nathan Catt, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Philip Koranteng, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Honorable Mention All-HCAC (Athlete must accumulate 12 points at HCAC Championships without a 1st or 2nd place finish)

Cole Green, Fr., Transylvania

All-Sportsmanship Team

Nick Marzolf, Fr., Anderson

Blake Drewes, Fr., Bluffton

Anthony Nolfi, Sr., Defiance

Simon Conrad, Sr., Earlham

Matthew Icenogle, Jr., Franklin

Enrico Franchini, Fr., Hanover

Clayton Harlan, Sr., Manchester

Samuel Fowler, Sr., Mount St. Joseph

Marcel Snijder, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Mason Williams, Sr., Transylvania