RHIT Selected by Coaches as HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Favorites

RHIT Selected by Coaches as HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Favorites

GREENWOOD, IN – Rose-Hulman’s men’s track and field team has been selected as the unanimous front runner to win the 2014 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference indoor championship. In a poll of the ten HCAC head coaches, the Engineers received 100 total points and all ten first place votes. 

Franklin College will strive for the indoor title, as the Grizzlies totaled a second-best 85 points.  Defiance College placed third in the poll with 77 points, while Anderson University and Manchester University finished fourth with 68 points.  Hanover College finished sixth with 51 points and was followed by Bluffton University (38 points), College of Mount St. Joseph (29), Earlham College (21), and Transylvania University (13).

Rose-Hulman has claimed the first three HCAC indoor championships and will look for a fourth-straight this February at Anderson.  The Engineers will look to replace last year’s Most Outstanding Track Athlete, losing Tyler Hannan to graduation.  Junior Stuart West (La Porte, Ind./H.S.) set a new conference record at the championship meet last winter, winning the mile run with a time of 4:20.31.  Senior Andrew Thompson (Mundelein, Ill./Vernon Hills) opened the indoor season with the third fastest time in NCAA Division III this indoor season, posting a 3,000-meter time of 8:35.33 at the Terre Haute Double Dual Friday evening.

Franklin College earned a second place finish at last year’s indoor championship meet and will try for their first indoor conference track and field title this winter.  The Grizzlies will look to replace multi-event winner Georard Mitchell who graduated last spring.  Senior Clay Warner (Franklin, Ind./H.S.) will look to take over Mitchell’s role after finishing second in the triple jump and third in the long jump last February.

Defiance College finished third at last winter’s HCAC indoor meet and will go for a title in 2014.  The Yellow Jackets return All-HCAC selections Troy Parrett (Cedarville, Ohio/H.S.) and Joe Davis (Mansfield, Ohio/Ontario) to the track this winter.  Parrett won the 800-meters with a time of 1:57.27, while Davis earned the 3,000 and 5,000-meter titles.

The 2014 HCAC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Championships are set for Saturday, February 22 at Anderson University


Rose-Hulman Head Coach Larry Cole

Athletes to Watch



Tony Johnson

Sr., Sprints

South Bend, Ind./Clay


Max Kittle

Jr., Hurdles/Sprints

Algonquin, Ill./Dundee-Crown


Brad McNeil

Jr., Hurdles/Sprints

Middletown, Ind./Pendleton Heights


Sam Bayliss

So., Distance

Anderson, Ind./Pendleton Heights



Jeff Parker

Jr., Jumps

Goshen, Ind./Northridge


Joshua Edens

So., Distance

Westerville, Ohio/Central


Jack Fisher

Fr., Distance

Norwalk, Ohio/St. Paul


Blake Drewes

Fr., Jumps

Archbold, Ohio/H.S.


Edgar Gonzales

So., Throws

Melvindale, Mich./H.S.



Joe Davis

Sr., Distance

Mansfield, Ohio/Ontario



Troy Parrett

Jr., Distance

Cedarville, Ohio/H.S.


Madison Murphy

Sr., Distance

Westerville, Ohio/Thomas Worthington


Anthony Nolfi

Sr., Throws

Akron, Ohio/Ravenna Southeast



Mark Dixon

Sr., Jumps

Indianapolis, Ind./Tindley


Gabriel Penk

Fr., Distance

Portland, Ore./Woodrow Wilson



Leighton Gough

Sr., Distance

Connersville, Ind./H.S.


Clay Warner

Sr., Jumps

Franklin, Ind./H.S.


Matthew Icenogle

Jr., Hurdles/Sprints

Scottsburg, Ind./H.S.



Nick Jaeger

So., Jumps

Terre Haute, Ind./South


Joe Feldman

So., Sprints

Oregonia, Ohio/Waynesville


Al Moreland

Sr., Throws

Lawton, Mich./H.S.



Jon Caffarelli

Sr., Distance

Lansing, Ill./Marian Catholic


Curtis Nordmann

Sr., Distance

Triton, Ind./H.S.


Austin Finley

Jr., Sprints/Jumps

Kokomo, Ind./H.S.


Michael Stocker

Sr., Distance

Yorktown, Ind./H.S.


Stephen Coble

Jr., Throws

Edwardsburg, Mich./H.S.


Mount St. Joseph

Sam Barth

Fr., Mid-Distance

Ft. Thomas, Ky./Newport Central Catholic


Keenan Crans

Fr., Jumps

Sedona, Ari./Red Rocks


Sean Fisher

Fr., Hurdles

Ross, Ohio/H.S.



Clay Becker

Sr., Sprints

Gaylord, Mich./St. Mary Cathedral


Nathan Catt

Sr., Mid-Distance

Greenwood, Ind./Center Grove


Andy Hunkeler

Sr., Throws

Kokomo, Ind./Northwestern


Philip Koranteng

Sr., Hurdles/Sprints

Sterling, Va./Dominion


Andrew Thompson

Sr., Distance

Mundelein, Ill./Vernon Hills



Ben Hoseus

Sr., Sprints

Walton, Ky./Verona


Mason Williams

Sr., Sprints

Nicholasville, Ky./Jessamine


Cole Green

Fr., Sprints

Oak Ridge, Tenn./H.S.


Kyle Sprague

Fr., Distance

Lexington, Ky./Paul Dunbar


Alex Czjuko

Fr., Distance

Olney, Md./Our Lady of Good Counsel