Defiance’s Joe Davis & Tom Postema Named HCAC Men’s Track & Field Athletes of the Year

Defiance’s Joe Davis & Tom Postema Named HCAC Men’s Track & Field Athletes of the Year


GREENWOOD, IN – Defiance College’s Joe Davis (Ontario, Ohio/H.S.) and Tom Postema (Defiance, Ohio/Tinora) have been named 2013 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Year, respectively.   Davis and Postema helped the Jackets place third in the men’s standings on April 27 at Manchester University.

Davis, a junior for the Yellow Jackets, won the 1,500-meter run and 3,000-meter steeplechase at the 2013 HCAC Championships.  The Ontario, Ohio native also placed third in the 5,000-meter run during the championship meet, totaling 26 points on the track to lead all competitors.  

Postema, a senior for the Jackets, won three field events at the championship.  The senior won the shot put with a mark of 15.65 meters and claimed the hammer throw and discus in HCAC record fashion.  Postema set a new league-best in the discus with a heave of 56.27 meters.  The Defiance native also shattered the hammer throw record with a B standard United States Olympic Trials qualifying mark of 65.08 meters.

Also receiving recognition for his efforts at the meet is Hanover freshman Nick Jaeger (Terre Haute, Ind./South), receiving the 2013 HCAC Outdoor Track & Field Freshman Athlete of the Year.  Jaeger earned the conference title in the high jump with a leap of 1.93 meters.

Rose-Hulman’s Larry Cole was named the HCAC Coach of the Year after leading the Engineers to the school’s sixth-straight HCAC Men’s Outdoor Track & Field team title. Cole, in his tenth season as Rose-Hulman’s head coach, saw his squad garner 202 points to win the championship.

Awards Ceremony

Most Outstanding Male Track Athlete:  Joe Davis, Defiance College

Most Outstanding Male Field Athlete:  Tom Postema, Defiance College

Most Outstanding Freshman Male Athlete:  Nick Jaeger, Hanover College

Coach of the Year:  Larry Cole, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology



Max Kittle, So., Anderson

Jeff Parker, So., Bluffton

Troy Parrett, So., Defiance

Joe Davis, Jr., Defiance

Hayden Krick, Sr., Defiance

Tom Postema, Sr., Defiance

Georard Mitchell, Sr., Franklin

Kris Sandlin, Jr., Franklin

Nick Jaeger, Fr., Hanover

Micquelle Burton, Jr., Mount St. Joseph

Tyler Hannan, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Collin Crowson, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Jeremiah Edwards, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Clay Becker, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Travis Stallings, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Jake Kelley, So., Rose-Hulman

Tyler Duffy, Fr., Rose-Hulman


2nd Team All-HCAC

Brad McNeil, So., Anderson

Eric Linn, Sr., Anderson

Caleb Collier, Sr., Anderson

Madison Murphy, Jr., Defiance

Patrick Ellis, So., Franklin

Forrest Prichard, Sr., Franklin

Kris Jenkins, Sr., Hanover

Jack Schoening, Fr., Hanover

Andy Orem, Sr., Hanover

Tyler Arceneaux, Jr., Hanover

Joe Feldmann, Fr., Hanover

Zeth Baker, Sr., Manchester

Kurt Monix, Sr., Manchester

Zach Boger, Sr., Manchester

Michael Stocker, Jr., Manchester

Greg Larmore, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Trey Cahill, Sr., Rose-Hulman


All-Sportsmanship Team

Eric Linn, Sr., Anderson

Josh Cunningham, Fr., Bluffton

George Roth, Fr., Defiance

John Edouassaint, Sr., Earlham

Matthew Icenogle, So., Franklin

Jake Schoening, Fr., Hanover

Michael Stocker, Jr., Manchester

Collin Brown, Sr., Mount St. Joseph

Andrew Thompson, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Akrin Erol, Fr., Transylvania