RHIT’s Hannan, DC’s Postema Named HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Year

RHIT’s Hannan, DC’s Postema Named HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Year

Awards Ceremony Photos (click here)

GREENWOOD, IN – Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology’s Tyler Hannan (Winchester, Ky./George Rogers Clark) and Defiance College’s Tom Postema (Defiance, Ohio/Tinora) have been named 2013 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Indoor Track Athlete of the Year and Field Athlete of the Year, respectively. Hannan helped the Engineers claim their third consecutive indoor title, while Postema led the Yellow Jackets to a third place finish on February 16 at Defiance College.

Hannan, a senior for the Engineers, won two individual events and was a member of the first place 800-meter and 1,600-meter relay teams at the 2013 HCAC Indoor Championships.  The senior claimed the individual titles in the 200-meter (22.88) and 400-meter (50.41) dashes, while the relay teams won with times of 1:30.92 (HCAC record) and 3:25.31.

Postema, a senior for the Jackets, won two field events at the championship.  He had a winning mark of 15.64 meters in the shot put and claimed the title in the weight throw with a HCAC record heave of 20.72 meters.

Also receiving recognition for his efforts at the meet is Hanover freshman Nick Jaeger (Terre Haute, Ind./South), receiving the 2013 HCAC Indoor Track & Field Freshman Athlete of the Year.  Jaeger earned a first place finish in the high jump, clearing a HCAC record 2.00 meters to claim the title.

Rose-Hulman’s Larry Cole was named the HCAC Coach of the Year after leading the Engineers to their third straight HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field team title. Cole, in his tenth season as Rose-Hulman’s head coach, saw his squad garner 206.5 points to win the championship.

Most Outstanding Male Track Athlete:  Tyler Hannan, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Most Outstanding Male Field Athlete:  Tom Postema, Defiance College

Most Outstanding Male Freshman Athlete:  Nick Jaeger, Hanover College

Coach of the Year:  Larry Cole, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology



Max Kittle, So., Anderson

Troy Parrett, So., Defiance

Joe Davis, Jr., Defiance

Tom Postema, Sr., Defiance

Georard Mitchell, Sr., Franklin

Nick Jaeger, Fr., Hanover

Chris LaFree, Jr., Manchester

Kyle Davis, Jr., Manchester

Jordan Collins, Jr., Manchester

Michael Stocker, Jr., Manchester

Jeremiah Edwards, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Tyler Hannan, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Stuart West, So., Rose-Hulman

Collin Crowson, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Travis Stallings, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Clay Becker, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Jake Kelley, So., Rose-Hulman

Thomas McGuire, Fr., Rose-Hulman

2nd Team All-HCAC

Brad McNeil, So., Anderson

Tony Johnson, Jr., Anderson

Brad McNeil, So., Anderson

Cameron Mason, Fr., Anderson

Jack Hill, So., Anderson

Sam Bayliss, Fr., Anderson

Hayden Krick, Sr., Defiance

Madison Murphy, Jr., Defiance

Dan Hardin-Wallace, Sr., Defiance

Kris Sandlin, Jr., Franklin

Clay Warner, So., Franklin

Ray Claytor, Jr., Mount St. Joseph

Andrew Thompson, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Andy Hunkeler, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Greg Larmore, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Philip Koranteng, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Ryan Meyer, So., Rose-Hulman

Brandon Bullitt, Fr., Rose-Hulman

Josh Hojnacki, So., Rose-Hulman

Robbie Mayhew, Jr., Rose-Hulman

Honorable Mention All-HCAC

(Athlete must accumulate 12 points at HCAC Championships without a 1st or 2nd place finish)


All-Sportsmanship Team

Joe Daubenspeck, Fr., Anderson

A.J. Ehresman, Fr., Bluffton

Anthony Nolfi, Jr., Defiance

Tristan Wright, Sr., Earlham

Kye Durbin, Sr., Franklin

Austin Duncan, So., Hanover

Josh Lofton, Sr., Manchester

Casey Gilmour, Sr., Mount St. Joseph

Tyler Hannan, Sr., Rose-Hulman

Mason Williams, Jr., Transylvania