RHIT Selected by Coaches as HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Favorites

RHIT Selected by Coaches as HCAC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Favorites

GREENWOOD, IN – Rose-Hulman’s men’s track and field team has been selected as the unanimous front runner to win the 2013 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference indoor championship. In a poll of the ten HCAC head coaches, the Engineers received 100 total points and all ten first place votes. 

Defiance College will strive for the indoor title, as the Jackets totaled a second-best 89 points.  Manchester University placed third in the poll with 76 points and Franklin College finished fourth with 73 points.  Anderson University finished fifth with 62 points and was followed by Hanover College (41 points), Earlham College (37), College of Mount St. Joseph (34), Bluffton University (27), and Transylvania University (11).

Rose has claimed the first two HCAC indoor championships and will look for a third-straight this February at Defiance.  The Engineers return a host of All-HCAC members from last year’s indoor title squad and will look for similar success this winter. The Engineers will look to replace last year’s Most Outstanding Track Athlete, losing Sutton Coleman to graduation.  Senior Collin Crowson (Dublin, Ohio/Jerome) set a new HCAC indoor record in the pole vault last winter, clearing 4.60 meters. Sophomore Stuart West (La Porte, Ind./H.S.) also set a new conference record at the championship meet, winning the mile run with a time of 4:20.52.

Defiance earned a second place finish at last year’s indoor championship meet and will try for their first conference track and field title this winter.  The Jackets will turn to senior Tom Postema (Defiance, Ohio/Tinora) to lead the effort at their home track this February.  As a junior, Postema won the indoor title in the shot put and weight throw with HCAC record efforts, earning the HCAC Most Outstanding Field Athlete award. 

Manchester finished third at last winter’s HCAC indoor meet and will strive for a title at this winter’s indoor championship.  The Spartans earned first place finishes last winter in the 4,000-meter relay and the high jump.

The 2013 HCAC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Championships are set for Saturday, February 16 at Defiance College.

The 2013 men’s indoor track and field season gets in full swing this weekend.


RHIT Head Coach Larry Cole

Athletes to Watch



Tony Johnson

Jr., Sprints

South Bend, Ind./Clay


Max Kittle

So., Hurdles

Algonquin, Ill./Dundee-Crown


Brad McNeil

So., Hurdles

Middletown, Ind./Pendleton Heights


Eric Linn

Caleb Collier

Sr., Distance

Sr., Throws

Macy, Ind./N. Miami

Zionsville, Ind./H.S.




Zach Smith

Fr., Distance

West Unity, Ohio/Hilltop



Joel Schmidt

Fr., Hurdles/Sprints

Berne, Ind./South Adams


Travaun Reaves

So., Sprints/Jumps

Berkley, Mich./H.S.


Colin McCloskey

Fr., Distance

Sylvania, Ohio/Northview



Dan Hardin-Wallace

Sr., Jumps, Sprints

Toledo, Ohio/Bowsher



Hayden Krick

Sr., Distance

Hicksville, Ohio/Antwerp


Tom Postema

Sr., Throws

Defiance, Ohio/Tinora


Joe Davis

Jr., Distance

Mansfield, Ohio/Ontario


Troy Parrett

So., Mid-Distance

Cedarville, Ohio/H.S.



Zander Ansara

Jr., Jumps/Hurdles

Carlisle, Mass./Concord Carlisle


Mark Dixon

Jr., Jumps

Indianapolis, Ind./Tindley


Rob Awkward

Jr., Sprints

Natick, Mass./H.S.



Georard Mitchell

Sr., Jumps/Sprints

Indianapolis, Ind./Howe


Kris Sandlin

Jr., Distance

Scottsburg, Ind./H.S.


Forrest Prichard

Phil Dodson

Sr., Jumps

Sr., Throws

Scottsburg, Ind./H.S.

Indianapolis, Ind./Warren Central



Andy Orem

Sr., Sprints

Princeton, Ind./H.S.


Dwayne Eubanks

Richie Sellers

Jr., Sprints/Jumps

So., Mid-Distance

Mitchell, Ind./H.S.

Noblesville, Ind./H.S.



Zeth Baker

Sr., Mid-Distance

Waterloo, Ind./DeKalb


Josh Lofton

Sr., Throws

Indianapolis, Ind./Brebeuf Jesuit


Jon Caffarelli

Jr., Distance

Lansing, Ill./Marian Catholic


Curtis Nordmann

Jr., Distance

Triton, Ind./H.S.


Austin Finley

So., Jumps

Kokomo, Ind./H.S.


Mount St. Joseph

Micquelle Burton

Jr., Sprints

Cincinnati, Ohio/Deer Park


Michael Kidder

Sr., Throws

Kings Mills, Ohio/Kings


Ray Claytor

Jr., Jumps

Cincinnati, Ohio/LaSalle



Trey Cahill

Sr., Throws

Auburn, Ind./DeKalb


Jeremiah Edwards

Sr., Sprints

Indianapolis, Ind./Lawrence North


Collin Crowson

Sr., Jumps

Dublin, Ohio/Jerome


Tyler Hannan

Sr., Sprints

Winchester, Ky./Rogers Clark


Greg Larmore

Sr., Throws

Deerfield, Ill./H.S.


Travis Stallings

Sr., Jumps

Cincinnati, Ohio/Colerain



Chris Saldana

Mason Williams

Ben Hoseus

Fr., Sprints

Jr., Sprints

Jr., Sprints

Louisville, Ky./St. Xavier

Nicholasville, Ky./West Jessamine

Walton, Ky./Verona