Transylvania Claims 12th-Straight HCAC Men’s Golf Championship

Transylvania Claims 12th-Straight HCAC Men’s Golf Championship


DEFIANCE, Ohio – Transylvania University's Spencer McKinney (Danville, Ky.) fired a four-round score of 278 at the 2018 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's Golf Conference Championship to lead the Pioneers to their 12th-straight HCAC Men's Golf title. Transylvania tallied a team-score of 1,158 holding off second place Mount St. Joseph University's total of 1,209. 

McKinney shot a final-round 66 and fired rounds of 71, 71, and 70 in the first three rounds to earn medalist and Tournament MVP honors.

The Pioneers had three other top-eight finishers at the meet, placing Blake Young (Lexington, Ky.) in third position (290), Jack Berger (Louisville, Ky.) in a tie four fourth (291), and Harrison Lane (Lexington, Ky.) in a tie for sixth (300).

The four Pioneers all earned All-HCAC recognition. Joining the group on the All-HCAC team are Mount St. Joseph's Mikel Merker (Dayton, Ohio) and Ethan McCarthy (Cincinnati, Ohio), Hanover's Austin Zapp (Union, Ky.), and Earlham's Garrett Schuler (Williamsburg, Ind.).

Earlham's Schuler also earned the conference's Freshman of the Year honor. Schuler finished with a total of 300, finishing in a tie for sixth place.

Mount St. Joseph finished second behind the Pioneers with a team score of 1,209. Hanover placed third with a total of 1,217, while Franklin finished fourth in the team standings with a total of 1,219. Earlham tallied 1,246 team strokes for fifth place and was trailed by Rose-Hulman (1,256), Defiance (1,258), Manchester (1,326), and Bluffton (1,477).

Transylvania head coach Brian Lane was also honored by the HCAC and named Coach of the Year. Lane earned the honor for the 12th time after leading the Pioneers to their 12th-straight HCAC men's golf championship.

Most Valuable Player – Spencer McKinney, Transylvania University

Freshman of the Year  Garrett Schuler, Earlham College

Coach of the Year – Brian Lane, Transylvania University


Spencer McKinney, TU


Mikel Merker, MSJ


Blake Young, TU


Jack Berger, TU


Austin Zapp, HC


Harrison Lane, TU


Garrett Schuler, EC


Ethan McCarthy, MSJ


All- Sportsmanship Team

Anthony Mungia, Bluffton

Hayden Clingaman, Defiance

Garrett Schuler, Earlham

, Franklin

Austin Zapp, Hanover

Zach Edwards, Manchester

Kyle Miller, Mount St. Joseph

Chase Harker, Rose-Hulman

Clay Church, Transylvania