Women's Track and Field

Rose-Hulman Wins Women’s Indoor Track and Field Championship

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – The 2021 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) Indoor Track and Field Championships were held on Saturday with hosts Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology taking the team title.

The Fightin’ Engineers earned 189 points to bring home the championship. Manchester University finished in second with 137 points, while Hanover College took third with 100 points. Bluffton University landed in fourth with 47.5 points, and Earlham College was just behind in fifth place with 47 points. Franklin College captured 46.5 points for sixth place, while Anderson University (34), Transylvania University (31) Defiance College (12) and Mount St. Joseph University (3) rounded out the top 10.
In both the track and field events, many teams were represented on top of the podium. In the first event of the day, Kelsey Tyler took the top spot on the women’s 5000 meter run with a time of 19:25.17 for Manchester. In the women’s distance medley relay Franklin raced to a first place finish with a time of 13:35.80 with the team comprised of Angelina Gregory, Lex Desenberg, Mallory Watson, anchored by Taylor Wooten.
In the 60 meter hurdles, Rose-Hulman picked up a win with Nosa Igiehon crushing the competition with a time of 9.54. Zaleeya Martin picked up Hanover’s first win on the day, with an impressive 7.92 time in the 60 meter dash.
Rose-Hulman found themselves atop the podium again, this time in the 4x200 meter relay. The team of Adekite Oladipupo, Katrina Agustin, Emily Peterson and Tina Rogers ran a time of 1:52.15 for the win. Hannah Brubaker picked up the Spartan’s a win in the 1 mile run, in a time of 5:32.48.
In the 400 meter dash Lyndsey Hermes snagged the first win for Earlham, turning in a time of 1:02.30. Lauren Smith picked up a win in the 800 meter run for Manchester, racing a time of 2:31.79. In the 200 meter dash, familiar face Tina Rogers from Rose-Hulman earned the win, with a time of 27.44.
In the 3000 Meter run, Manchester’s Kelsey Tyler picked up another first with a time of 11:10.97. To cap the day, the 4x400 meter relay team from Rose-Hulman finished on top, with Emily Peterson, Dara Smith, Lois Cheatham and Tina Rogers running a time of 4:20.55 for the win.
On the field side, Hunter Fields from Franklin got things started, winning the weight throw with a toss of 14.49 meters. In the shot put, Hanover’s Jessica Beckman tossed for the win, with a throw of 11.34 meters the day’s top mark.
Finding her way to the top of the podium again, Nosa Igiehon captured the high jump title, clearing a height of 1.56 meters for the win and picked up first in the triple jump with a leap of 10.86 meters. Fellow Fightin’ Engineer, Rofiat Adeyemi won the long jump, with a 4.97 meter mark besting the competition.
In the pole vault, Brooke Schroeder finished first for Rose-Hulman, clearing a height of 2.99 meters.
The HCAC recognizes the top three finishers in events as HCAC All-Conference. The complete list of HCAC All-Conference honorees are listed below. In a vote of league coaches, the following student-athletes were honored with the marque awards of the meet:
Women’s Track Athlete of the Year: Kelsey Tyler, Manchester
Women’s Field Athlete of the Year: Nosa Igiehon, Rose-Hulman
Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Rofiat Adeyemi, Rose-Hulman
Women’s Coach of the Year: Larry Cole, Rose-Hulman
Women’s HCAC All-Conference
Event Team Name School
5000 Meter First Team Kelsey Tyler Manchester
5000 Meter Second Team Lauren Smith Manchester
5000 Meter Third Team Hannah Brubaker Manchester
Distance Medley First Team Angelina Gregory, Lex Desenberg, Mallory Watson, Taylor Wooten Franklin
Distance Medley Second Team Emilie Penick, Olivia Moss, Callie Guthrie, Noelle Loller Anderson
Distance Medley Third Team Makenzie Brownrigg, Brooke Barnes, Hope Nixon, Miranda. Billman Bluffton
60 Meter Hurdles First Team Nosa Igiehon Rose-Hulman
60 Meter Hurdles Second Team Alexis Gerke Hanover
60 Meter Hurdles Third Team Janae Johnson Franklin
60 Meter Dash First Team Zaleeya Martin Hanover
60 Meter Dash Second Team Madalynn Schifer Bluffton
60 Meter Dash Third Team Adekit Oladipupo Rose-Hulman
4x200 Meter Relay First Team Adekite Oladipupo, Katrina Agustin, Emily Peterson, Tina Rogers Rose-Hulman
4x200 Meter Relay Second Team Alijah Craig, Makenzie Carroll, Alexis Gerke, Zaleeya Martin Hanover
4x200 Meter Relay Third Team Brooke Bouwens, Elizabeth Russell, Kendal Garringer, Adelle Stanko Manchester
1 Mile Run First Team Hannah Brubaker Manchester
1 Mile Run Second Team Noelle Loller Anderson
1 Mile Run Third Team Lauren Smith Manchester
400 Meter Dash First Team Lyndsey Hermes Earlham
400 Meter Dash Second Team Tina Rogers Rose-Hulman
400 Meter Dash Third Team Kali Nolan Transylvania
800 Meter Run First Team Lauren Smith Manchester
800 Meter Run Second Team Angelina Gregory Franklin
800 Meter Run Third Team Kortney Smith Transylvania
200 Meter Dash First Team Tina Rogers Rose-Hulman
200 Meter Dash Second Team Kali Nolan Transylvania
200 Meter Dash Third Team Zaleeya Martin Hanover
3000 Meter Run First Team Kelsey Tyler Manchester
3000 Meter Run Second Team Arig Tong Hanover
3000 Meter Run Third Team Brianna Medcalf Hanover
4x400 Meter Relay First Team Emily Peterson, Dara Smith, Lois Cheatham, Tina Rogers Rose-Hulman
4x400 Meter Relay Second Team Brooke Bouwens, Sydney Young, Morgan Chupp, Adelle Stanko Manchester
4x400 Meter Relay Third Team Jennifer Douyere, Elena Stirn, Shianna Bellingham, Esther Mano Earlham
Weight Throw First Team Hunter Fields Franklin
Weight Throw Second Team Emma Payne Bluffton
Weight Throw Third Team Erica Mohr Manchester
Shot Put First Team Jessica Beckman Hanover
Shot Put Second Team Cassie Utley Rose-Hulman
Shot Put Third Team Stephanie Fox Bluffton
High Jump First Team Nosa Igiehon Rose-Hulman
High Jump Second Team Dara Smith Rose-Hulman
High Jump Third Team Kendal Garringer Manchester
Long Jump First Team Rofiat Adeyemi Rose-Hulman
Long Jump Second Team Madison Huelskamp Earlham
Long Jump Third Team Zaleeya Martin Hanover
Triple Jump First Team Nosa Igiehon Rose-Hulman
Triple Jump Second Team Rofiat Adeyemi Rose-Hulman
Triple Jump Third Team Kyra Hicks Rose-Hulman
Pole Vault First Team Brooke Schroeder Rose-Hulman
Pole Vault Second Team Claire Perkins Rose-Hulman
Pole Vault Third Team Emily Jones Hanover